Our Story

It All Began in 1936

In 1936, Mesa County Teachers Federal Credit Union was founded by 29 educators with less than $200 in assets. We offered savings accounts and personal loans to Mesa County School District 51 faculty and staff.  In the ensuing decades, we grew to serve other membership groups in Mesa, Garfield, Pitkin and Eagle Counties.  As we continued to thrive, we stayed focused on providing our members with financial solutions, education, and expert advice.

Western Rockies Over The Years

Ouray Ave

Our original building was located on Rood Ave. The building shown above was our Ouray Avenue location, which was the second location for Mesa County Teachers Federal Credit Union.

North Ave

In March of 1989, Mesa County Teacher's Federal Credit Union moved from our Rood Avenue building to 2302 North Ave, which is now our primary Grand Junction branch.

Rifle Branch

In July of 2004, Burning Mountain Credit Union joined us as the Western Rockies Federal Credit Union Rifle Branch. Today, our Rifle branch services all of Garfield, Eagle, and Pitkin Counties.

 Fruita Branch

Western Rockies added our Fruita Branch in August of 2008.  The Fruita Branch provided our members living in the western side of the valley a Western Rockies location closer to home!

80+ Years in the Community

As a financial cooperative, the best interests of our members and community have always been at the forefront of our business.  From our humble beginnings, Western Rockies has become one of the largest local financial institutions to serve Colorado's Western Slope.

Evolution of the Western Rockies Logo

Mesa County Teachers Federal Credit Union "Sun" Logo Mesa County Teachers Federal Credit Union "Bell" Logo Western Rockies Federal Credit Union Original "Mountains" Logo  Western Rockies FCU Logo

A Continuous Focus on Service

Today, we have over 50 employees who provide solutions for our members.  At Western Rockies, we’re on a never-ending quest to improve ourselves, our processes, our products and our service. 

The History Of Our Presidents

Cowen Deren Crysteen Green H.V. Zimmerman W. D. Mattsen Bonnie Maresh Paul Denning
 Krist L Porter 

Our Board Of Directors

Our Board of Directors consists of 7 volunteers from our membership. Board elections are held annually at the Western Rockies Annual Meeting.  The board meets every month to make important assessments and decisions about the Credit Union.  Board Members also host the Annual Meeting.

Leo Rinderle

Dennis Crawford

Samantha Moe-Swingle

CJ Schoenbeck

Don Hobbs

Bob Witt

Tina Hulihee

Janet Johnson


Vice Chair



Board Member

Board Member

Board Member

Associate Board Member


Our Loyal and growing base of satisfied members is the real reward. 

That is, and always will be, how we ultimately measure our success.

Back to top